Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My housemate and I have embarked on the Vegan challenge, named Veganuary for all of January. At first I was dubious because to be perfectly honest, I love cheese. We have a cheese night at least once a week – usually an ooey gooey baked camembert with crusty bread – so this was going to be a shock to the system. However, I decided to look at this with optimism and as a challenge to actually plan and cook meals better.

My first impressions is that there are a surprising number of vegan products on the market and you don’t need to go to a health food shop to find them! My second impression is that it’s also easy to be a ‘bad’ vegan – I could happily live off of crisps and jammy dodgers… but that isn’t necessarily healthy. Saying that my reasons for trying this vegan thing isn’t completely for health but more for seeing if I can accept the challenge and give up all dairy and eggs. Now we both don’t drink milk so that part was quite easy – I drink almond milk and my housemate prefers rice milk. I only tend to eat eggs at the weekend anyway, so going eggless for a month isn’t such an issue on that front.

I have to admit, we went out with a bit of a bang on New Years Eve with a huge serving of Quorn chilli nachos smothered in cheese and our cream. So delicious! New Years day morning we set about making a huge fry up – vegan style. I cooked up a big serving of tofu scramble (my second attempt), hash browns, baked beans, roasted tomatoes and veggie sausages (Linda McCartney range). We are full to the brim!

20160101_120910

Now we did go on an escapade to Whole Foods to stock up on a few vegan items you don’t find in a supermarket. Some of the products I picked up were CoYo coconut yoghurt (seriously delicious), Vegenaise, non-dairy vegan cheese and the most amazing chocolate bar, Vego.

