Tags

, , , ,

I wasn’t always a gin fan. I suppose as you grow up and become more of an adult you end up trying new things more – your taste buds change. It’s kind of fascinating, in a way, the way you can mould your taste buds. The bitter, refreshing tang – the sharpness of the gin cut by the fizz of tonic with a subtle twist of lime – terrific. It’s certainly my drink of choice now.

So when I stumbled upon a recipe incorporating one of my favourite drinks into a cake I had to jump at the chance to bake it.

For this I bought good gin (Bombay Sapphire) but that’s also because I was going to make a few drinks out of it too! The original recipe can be found here – I have made my own comments on the recipe below. This cake came back with great reviews from family and friends so I urge you to try it for yourself!

IMG_20150304_231526

Gin & Tonic Cake

You will need:

For the cake:

  • 4 eggs
  • Butter
  • Sugar
  • Self-raising flour
  • 2 lemons – zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 3-4 shots of your favourite gin

For the syrup:

  • 3-4 shots of gin
  • 150g granulated sugar
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • A dash of tonic water (I used a mini can)
  1. Preheat your oven to 180C. Prepare a loaf tin by buttering the bottom and sides or by lining with baking paper.
  2. Weigh the eggs – whatever weight the eggs come to on the scale will be the same weight as the butter, sugar and flour.
  3. In a large mixing bowl or mixer add the caster sugar and butter, cream together until the mixture is light and fluffy.
  4. Add the eggs in one at a time until fully combined. Sieve the flour into the mixture slowly and add in the lemon zest.
  5. Pour in 3-4 shots of gin and the juice of one lemon, mixing until the batter is smooth.
  6. Pour into the lined tin and bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes. Note: I allowed for 45 minutes but would personally aim for 50-55 minutes as my base was slightly underdone.
  7. To make the syrup: Mix the remaining shots of gin, granulated sugar, lemon juice and tonic in a separate bowl until you have a consistent mixture. The sugar may not fully dissolve. (At this point you can add extra gin or lemon juice to taste).
  8. When the cake is ready, place on a cooling rack and prick the surface of the cake with a skewer (or a fork if you don’t have a skewer). Spoon the syrup mixture over the cake and allow it to soak into the cake.
  9. Once the cake is cooled, slice and enjoy!

