Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I currently have a lot of time for being a little bit creative with food, especially with different breakfast options. When I’m working I usually don’t allow myself much time for a ‘proper’ breakfast which means I tend to grab a banana or eat something from work. I work in the catering industry so it’s easy for me to pick up a scone or similar. At the weekends, however, I like to cook up a nice late breakfast or brunch – this tends to be eggs, pancakes or french toast. This weekend I decided on a mixture of Huevos Rancheros and a Southern American country-fried potato recipe. I used leftover potatoes from the dinner before (baby new potatoes). If you don’t have leftovers, I’m sure you can fry them from raw – otherwise boil them and wait for them to cool slightly before using them in this recipe.

I haven’t thought of a name for this yet, but I do have a recipe.

You will need:

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 8-10 small potatoes, chopped into small pieces
  • 5 chestnut mushrooms, diced
  • 3 spring onions, thinly sliced
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon paprika (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon dried chilli flakes (optional)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 50g grated cheese (e.g. cheddar, also optional)
  1. In a large frying pan over a medium-high heat melt the butter and sauté the potatoes and mushrooms for about 10 minutes – until the mushrooms are soft and the potatoes start to become crispy. 2014-09-07 10.43.32
  2. Add in the spring onions and seasoning, allow to fry for 5 minutes Crack in the 4 eggs and allow to cook for a further 5 minutes.
  3. You can either put a lid on your pan or place your pan under the grill until the eggs are fully cooked through. Lastly, top with the grated cheese, making sure it fully melts.

I served this with baguette toast and homemade guacamole (also a leftover from dinner the night before) and enjoyed eating this al fresco outside in the garden.

2014-09-07 11.03.042014-09-07 11.13.54What are some of your favourite breakfast options? And your favourite way of cooking eggs? Let me know 🙂

