Tags

, , , , ,

So! I realize I’ve been an absolute failure with this. I left it for so long I found it difficult to come back to where I left off. But here I am again! Hurrah! Shout to me now. Give me a slap on the hands and say ‘Stellington, get in that kitchen, take delicious photos of food and BLOG!’ Okay?

On that note, I don’t have a photo today. But I do have a recipe!

Poached Eggs on a bed of Spinach and Chestnut Mushrooms.

You will need:

  • 2 eggs
  • Chestnut mushrooms – 80-100g sliced
  • A good handful of Spinach leaves – 100g
  • Half an onion – diced
  • Fresh baguette – 6-8inch size, sliced down the middle (toasted, if you prefer)
  • Fresh chives, diced
  • Paprika (optional)
  • Salt & white pepper
  • 2 tbsp – Vegetable oil/butter, for frying
  • 1 tsp white vinegar

1. Start by heating a large pan with some vegetable oil or butter. Toss in your onions and fry on a medium-high heat until they begin to soften after about 5-7 minutes. Add in your chestnut mushrooms. Let them cook together for 10 minutes on a medium heat. When the mushrooms have turned brown and softened, add in the chives, leaving a small teaspoon for garnish.

2. In the mean time, put on a small saucepan of water on your stove and wait for it to boil. Add a teaspoon of white vinegar (optional).

3. Wash your spinach and either leave to dry in a colander or pat dry with some paper towel.

4. Prepare your baguette by slicing down the middle lengthways. You can toast your baguette if you prefer or if it’s fresh then leave it just so. Butter both sides if you wish. Arrange a good handful of spinach on top of your bread. Turn off your stove and add the mushrooms on top of the spinach.

5. Now the poaching bit! I like to put my eggs into a little dish/container. Make sure the water is simmering (not boiling) and carefully place the eggs into the pan, first one egg and then the other. I recommend cooking each egg separately, but if you have a large pan of water and feel more confident in your egg poaching abilities, then go ahead and poach both at the same time. I find the perfect time is roughly 1.5 – 2 minutes. When they are ready, remove with a slotted spoon and tip the spoon at an angle carefully to remove as much excess water as possible.

6. Place the eggs on the mushroom and spinach stack. Season with salt and white pepper to taste and sprinkle on the remaining chives for garnish. Enjoy!

Next update: Homemade pizza.

