Tags

, , ,

So I was going to write about sandwiches but I don’t have any pretty sandwich pictures. I tend to eat my sandwiches instead of take photos of them. I will remember this for next time I make a delicious sandwich.

Well, generally, veggie sandwiches can be really boring – same old cheese, egg, or cheese, or egg, or cheese… maybe with pickle. Maybe you’ll get one of those soggy tomatoes in there. Just one though. Followed by a lonely piece of lettuce. Bleugh.

Anyway, enough of these miserable sandwiches!

I like to make faux-tuna. It’s made out of chickpeas.

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2/3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 2/3 gherkins, chopped up finely
  • 2/3 teaspoons mustard (optional)
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  1. Mash the chickpeas in a mixing bowl with the back of a fork until mostly mashed but still chunky.
  2. Add in the mayonnaise, chopped gherkin, mustard (if using) and salt & pepper. Mix together until all ingredients are incorporated.
  3. You can eat it straight away but I find the flavours taste better after being refridgerated for a few hours.
  4. Keeps for about three days.

I like to eat it on toasted bread with lettuce/tomato/cucumber. It’s also great as a snack on melba toast.

Other combinations I like to use are huomous with pesto, peppers and tomato. These go great together in a wrap. You can also add avocado. It’s just about being creative and seeing what you have in the fridge or cupboard.

And I won’t leave without a picture!

Chilli-lime chickpeas – when they go right. Amazing! (see previous post)

